Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Engine Mount CHANGE

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Engine Mount CHANGE

Old 01-05-2007, 10:20 AM
  #1  
wdmurphree
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
wdmurphree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Mount CHANGE

Hey Guys,

I have an old (now discontinued) Hanger 9 Cessna 182. I want to put a Great Planes/Sig "Standard" motor mount in it in place of the all wood one that comes with the kit. The wood mount is to be epoxied to the firewall[>:]. I would like to change that to a more universal setup. I am instsalling a RCV CD58 motor and to make it work with the original mount I am going to have to modify the dickens out of it therefore removing a lot of strength from it. I realize that I need to keep the same thrust alignment but is it really just that simple? Do I need to do anything special to the firewall? Do I need to do anything special to assure correct alignment once I have the mount installed?

Any help would be great!!

Thank in advance.

Murf
Old 01-05-2007, 12:16 PM
  #2  
Tall Paul
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 5,211
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Engine Mount CHANGE

Have the propellor shaft come out the hole in the cowl in the proper spot.
That's it.
Old 01-05-2007, 12:28 PM
  #3  
BillS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 3,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Engine Mount CHANGE

If you can make the firewall relatively flat then using a commercial engine mount (Dave Brown or others) will be relatively easy. Washers between the engine mount and firewall can be used for modifying the thrust line.

Bill

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.