Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

ailerons and flaps

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

ailerons and flaps

Old 01-22-2007, 01:23 PM
  #1  
gnosis
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Waverly, NY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ailerons and flaps

Want to add flaps to a strip aileron . I've looked all over and can'f find a formula for how much of the aileron you can use for effective flaps and still retain good aileron control. Can anyone help?
Old 01-22-2007, 01:48 PM
  #2  
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,088
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ailerons and flaps

10% of the wing area. You lose some authority at low speeds (if you're a high alpha/3-D flier) by removing them from the slip stream. And if you put all your aileron on at the wingtips you increase the likelyhood of stalling a wing and snap rolling at low speeds, also.

Have you considered flaperons that do both?

I have a Contender that has 12" of apron flap along the wing root - one solid piece below the fuselage and all - on a 60" +/- overall wingspan. Don't know of any formula.
Old 01-22-2007, 03:10 PM
  #3  
gnosis
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Waverly, NY
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ailerons and flaps

Thanks for the info Charlie. The plane is a Bridi "Krafty 60" from BlueJay Models. It has a 60 or so inch span. It's an advanced trainer. I'm using an OS .46 AX. My radio has a flap knob, but no mixing capacity. I'll be modifying the kit to use in-wing aileron servos and will use the center wing servo for the flaps... like I did on a Senior Telemaster. The Sen. Tele. plans, however, showed where you could cut the ailerons for flaps. I'm not a hotdogger. I would just like to slow the Krafty down for landings and give it a little more lift for shorter takeoff runs. I liked the flaps on the Telemaster, but don't have enouth serious knowledge of aerodynamics to know how much flap area is enought, but not too much.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.