Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

CAP 232 or Extra 330

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

CAP 232 or Extra 330

Old 02-02-2007, 12:18 AM
  #1  
ldilauro
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CAP 232 or Extra 330

Hello,

After 1 year of intense flying I feel ready now to jump and start flying big birds. Now I want to move to 80" aerobatic planes.
I am reading reviews trying to decide betwen this two options from Great Planes: CAP 232 1.60 or Extra 300S 1.60
Another question is the engine: Glow, 4 stroke or Gas ?

I really appreciate your comments, experience and advise.
Saludos
Luis
Old 02-02-2007, 01:19 AM
  #2  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

G'day Mate,
Which one do YOU like, only you can decide. They both fly great, if set up correctly.
Old 02-03-2007, 12:52 PM
  #3  
ldilauro
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

I really like the CAP but I wasn´t sure if that was a good option. I been doing research and there are a lot of diferent 300 options and manufacturers but not too many for CAPs..
BTW, any suggestion about the engine ? Gas or Glow ?
Thanks
Luis
Old 02-03-2007, 03:02 PM
  #4  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

G'Day Luis,
I fly glow, mainly the larger sizes, 60 to 160, in fact I have never personally owned a 40 or a 46 sized engine, & over here, the cost of going "gas" or petrol as we call it, is just too much for me.
Even a 160 size aircraft is much cheaper to set up, I use standard 4.8 to 5 kilo servos on my elevators & ailerons, ball bearing of course, & only need digital on the rudder. I don't fly 3D, & so I don't need digital servos & the duel batteries to power them, or Lipos & regulators & all the stuff needed for that setup.
So this is easy to setup, maintain, & fly. The cost of fuel is a consideration, but, the setup costs far outweigh the running costs here.
I don't need extra batteries, to run my motor, 1700Mah is fine for the receiver, the weight & size of a gas plane is a limiting factor for me, ie, transport & storage.
So having said that, again it is YOUR decision, for YOUR circumstances, & YOUR type of flying.
Old 02-03-2007, 03:37 PM
  #5  
Zippi
My Feedback: (10)
 
Zippi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 4,972
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

ldilauro,

Take a look at the Chip Hyde CAP-X ARF . This would be a nice cheap plane for a first time gasser. Slap a 45cc to 50cc on the business end and your ready to go.

http://www.chiefaircraft.com/rcmsec/...de/CHCAPX.html


Old 02-03-2007, 03:42 PM
  #6  
ChuckW
Senior Member
 
ChuckW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 5,165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

I've personally never flown eaither one but I've seen the GP Cap a few times. It's a very nice looking plane and appears to fly great. I think the glow vs. gas question comes down to the weight of the engine you choose. Adding too much weight may increase the wing loading enough to make the plane less forgiving to fly.
Old 02-03-2007, 06:55 PM
  #7  
ldilauro
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

Many thanks for your comments and point of view !!
Look like everything in life, there are pros and cons for each option [:-]
Old 02-05-2007, 02:21 PM
  #8  
HDB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: LOVELAND, CO
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CAP 232 or Extra 330

If you are close to Pensacola, Florida I have a fantastic Scale Aerobatics Cap232(has "Avions Mundy Cap232 on the side) with a YS 140 which has only had a couple of flights. It was professionally built and is a truly beautiful plane. Has a 73 inch wing span, pull, pull controls plus much more than I can list here. I bought it from a pilot who decided to go to jets.


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.