Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Servo Mounting

Old 03-06-2003, 04:08 AM
  #1  
hshfwb
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

I would appreciate some of you fellows givening me you opinion on mounting sevos. Do you use the plastic servo tray that comes with the radio or do you prefer to use wood rails?
Old 03-06-2003, 04:20 AM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

Most of the installations I've seen or done use either wood rails or wood plates with blocks for the screws to bite into. You can get as fancy as you want, just make sure it's nice and stable.

Do you have a particular plane in mind?

Mike
Old 03-06-2003, 04:26 AM
  #3  
hshfwb
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

These servos are going into a sig kommander.
Old 03-06-2003, 04:35 AM
  #4  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

If you haven't done so already, run a search on Sig Kommander and see what you come up with. You may find people with pictures of their installs!

Good luck!

Mike
Old 03-06-2003, 05:07 AM
  #5  
Damnathius
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 509
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

While you're at it, 86 those silly screws that come with servos and radios, and use #2x1/2" socket head wood screws w/washers. With a ball driver, it is a lot easier to install the screws when in a difficult to reach location than with a Phillips head.

Old 03-06-2003, 05:24 AM
  #6  
patternwannabee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mars, PA
Posts: 252
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

I second Damnathius.

They're available at Microfasteners
Old 03-06-2003, 06:11 PM
  #7  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

if you haven't built the fuselage yet, put rails on the sides and get them as parallel as possible. I always use wood rails or a plywood plate. The plastic trays take up too much space, but they are adequate if you prefer them.
Old 03-06-2003, 06:24 PM
  #8  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

I third the socket or cap head screws. Check your local hardware store. We have Marshall's here in San Diego. They have all of that type of thing. They are SO much better. I stripped too many screws on a cowl and finally went down and bought some of those. Ahhhhh. What a difference.

Mike
Old 03-06-2003, 06:30 PM
  #9  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

Also, don't tighten them too much. Just until the grommets start to bulge. If you tighten them too much and squash the grommets, then the vibration absorption properties will be destroyed.
Old 03-06-2003, 06:32 PM
  #10  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,037
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Servo Mounting

I haven't used the plastic trays that came with the radio in year. Usually use 1/4 inch square spruce and make the rails from that. Has been working as long as I have been around.
Old 03-06-2003, 10:16 PM
  #11  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Servo Mounting

Ditto. Those rails never seem to place the servos where I need them.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.