Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

stab repair

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2002, 04:08 PM
gshepherd83
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stab repair

I am new to rc and am flying a trainer. on flight 3 an instructor was helping me and accidentally stepped on the horizontal stab, it broke flush with the fuse but didn't break the elevator. He apologized and we went to his shop and repaired it. We took it back and it flew great. The next day it broke again in the same spot IN FLIGHT, which made for an ugly landing. I dont want to take it back to him because he feels obligated to buy a new one. how can I fix this so it stays? Thanks for any help.

Ryan
Old 02-28-2002, 04:28 PM
pileit1

Default stab repair

More info is needed. Pics would be great.
What plane is it? Is the stab built-up or a solid sheet? Is it one clean break or more than one with ragged edges?

You may want to consider removing the stab and constructing a new one. Use the broken one as a template and building guide. If you are in a club, there's bound to be several other members who can help you with building a new stab. It's really not that big of a deal, especially if it is a solid sheet stab.
Old 02-28-2002, 10:12 PM
Mighty Mouse-RCU
My Feedback: (145)

Default stab repair

cut away the monocoat where the joint meets and epoxy a 1/2" triangular brace. Recover and fly. Wont affect the flight. Be sure to check CG.
Old 03-02-2002, 02:58 PM
gshepherd83

Default stab repair

Thats a good idea mighty mouse any suggestions on material to use for the brace wood,aluminum...etc?
Old 03-02-2002, 04:39 PM
Jazzy

Default stab repair

Triangle stock can be found at your LHS in varying sizes & densities. You'll want something kind'o sturdy. Hardwood stock would probably be overkill and add unecessary weight. The shop personel should steer you in the right direction.