Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Great Planes spinner weights

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Great Planes spinner weights

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2008, 06:33 PM
RPMcK
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Great Planes spinner weights

Has anyone out there actually used the GP spinner weight to balance an airplane? If so did it work well? I'd like to use one but don't want to trade a balanced airplane for an out-of-balance crankshaft or prop. Would appreciate and comments. I'm new at this, but if it works OK seems like a good way to go.
Old 02-13-2008, 06:46 PM
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (108)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Great Planes spinner weights

I have used them on several occassions with no problems at all. Good Luck, Dave
Old 02-13-2008, 08:17 PM
Campgems

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

One of the engines I got, don't remember which one, warned about using weighted spinners. They suggested that it would lead to early bearing failure. It makes sense because the threads are no a tight fit to the crank shaft, and it may not center accuratly resulting in an out of balance. The wobble won't be much, and for a stock prop nut, it doesn't amount to much of a problem, but when you magnify that weight by amount by 20 or so, you can see where it's going to lead. I would recomend lead weights screwed to the engine mounts. I have had good luck using 1/8" thick lead and making a strap about 3/4" wide. Bow this under the bottom of the crank case and use long front mounting screws, wide washers and a nut with locktite on it and it places the weight as far forward as possible without going to the added weight on the crank.

Don
Old 02-13-2008, 09:06 PM
DavidAgar