Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Servo Problem

Old 05-04-2008, 09:17 PM
  #1  
Planker07
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Beaumont, AB, CANADA
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Problem

Just put a new G-20 in a KMP p-47. Radio works fine on all controls. Start up engine and just the rudder servo goes crazy, All other controls are fine. The egnition box is 5" away from the reciever. Tried another servo and it was the same thing. Just wondering what could be the problem
Old 05-05-2008, 07:40 AM
  #2  
BillyGoat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: -, MT
Posts: 680
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Problem

Need a little bit more info about the set up of the rudder and the servo. Is it pull pull cable or is the servo in the tail with a short push rod?
Old 05-05-2008, 09:40 AM
  #3  
Villa
Senior Member
 
Villa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC,
Posts: 2,057
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Problem

Have you tried moving the transmitter away from the plane?
Old 05-06-2008, 06:04 AM
  #4  
speed367
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Jamestown, NY
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Problem

I had a similar problem and it turned out to be a loose pin in the reciever that when engine is started the vibration caused the servo to react. I had purchased the radio new but I must have hurt the pin when installing the reciever plug. I also had one do the same thing with a bad extention.

chuck
Old 05-06-2008, 07:00 PM
  #5  
P47Tbolt
Senior Member
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Harlem, GA
Posts: 359
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Problem

You state that your receiver is 5" away from the ignition module.You need to have at leat 12" between any radio
equipment and the ignition module.Also you will need to do a thorough range check to make sure there is no interference.
What radio system are you using? I am using a Futaba 9CAP 72 mhz in my GP Extra 300 with a DL-50 gas engine without
any interference problems.I set up my plane systems by using this as a refernce to go by from Futaba.I range checked my plane
with this method and have not had any problems.

Hope this will help.
http://www.futabarc.com/faq/faq-q331.html

Old 05-07-2008, 09:44 AM
  #6  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Servo Problem

Since it is only on the rudder servo and only when the engine is running, it is almost certainly a connection problem in the rudder circuitry. It could be at the receiver where the connector plugs into the receiver or anywhere between the receiver and the electonics within the servo. First, plut the rudder servo into one of the known good channels and see if it continues to act up with the engine running. If not, you have a problem in the receiver itself. If it still acts up, you have a connector problem in the harness to the servo or within the servo itself. Change out servos, if the problem still exists it is in the harness, if not you have a bad servo.
Old 05-07-2008, 03:33 PM
  #7  
scratchonly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 950
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Problem

A flying buddy instslled chokes on his servo leads solved the problem. Don't know where to get them.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.