Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

What is a good reliable remote glow setup?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

What is a good reliable remote glow setup?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2008, 07:37 AM
Birman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is a good reliable remote glow setup?

I want to use a remote glow setup and I've never used one before so I'm now familiar with them.

Can you recommend ad reliable brand that will stay attached to the glow plug?

Birman
Old 07-06-2008, 11:43 AM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: What is a good reliable remote glow setup?

None of the ones you can buy. I think I have tried them all and they all ended up to be total junk and A waste of time.
Then it hit me!!!! Why not make your own!!! Something small so you can't notice it and it can be hidden on A scale plane if you want. What A thought!!
Here is what I did. Radio shack has these little way cool head phone jacks and they come in three packs. 1/8 mono phone jacks #274-251, you will also need the male ends too and they come in A two pack. You just solder on one wire for the ground and one that goes to the glow plug. At firs I was making my own glow plug ends with A stainless wire. I was A Dental Lab Tech so I had the wire in stock. That was OK for me but when I showed friends this cool little set up they couldn't bend the wire very well.
I tried different types of glow plug caps and found two good ones. I sort of went with the Cermark #410 MCD Glow Socket. It's A twist on and works with both four and two stroke engines.
Much cleaner then the systems you buy and I have never had one come loose or start shorting out.
I have one male lead set up for my power pannel and I made up A short one for A hot shot glow driver by using the end off of A hot shot charger and soldering on A male.