Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

New CNC Router Design

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

New CNC Router Design

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 01:57 PM
dave9408

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New CNC Router Design

Hi everyone,

I'm a student currently designing a desktop CNC router for the design and model making markets. From what I've read on here it sounds like there would be a lot of interest in a product that is low-cost and easy to use. My intention is to focus on machining lightweight materials such as foam and balsa and to produce a fully assembled product rather than a kit, but I'm open to any suggestions.

At the moment the main information I'm trying to gather is:

What materials do you typically work with?

How large is a typical work piece?

How much would you be prepared to spend?

Would you prefer a product in kit form or fully assembled?

Thanks,

David
Old 10-21-2008, 03:57 PM
daven
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: New CNC Router Design

What materials do you typically work with? Mostly balsa, but the ability to go up to 1/4" thick aircraft ply would be very nice.

How large is a typical work piece? 36" minimum, 48" would be very nice.
How much would you be prepared to spend? Depends on the product
Would you prefer a product in kit form or fully assembled? Either or, depending on the premium and complexity of the assembly.
Old 10-21-2008, 04:27 PM
OldRookie
My Feedback: (13)

What type of software would you be using for programming? Is it included?
Would the software be able to use macros?
Would you be using a Y axis in addition to the X and Z axis?
Are you designing this router for speed or accuracy?
Are you designing the router with production capability, or a less rigid home version?
The price people would pay, would depend on the capability of the machine, like Daven stated.