RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Landing Warbirds (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/5676909-landing-warbirds.html)

Spitster 04-06-2007 10:13 PM

Landing Warbirds

Some help here would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to this hobby and like all newbies I want to fly warbirds. I'm now flying an Easy Sport by Great Planes with an OS 55AX, it's a nice stable plane, I have owned and unsuccessfully have tried to fly 3 Hangar 9 Corsairs and one Hangar 9 Spitfire all crashed. I can take off and fly but landing is a whole other story. Can anyone help me out on this. 12 planes in 10 months, not good. Is there any information out there or videos? I have a G3.5 simulator and I can fly and land anything on it but when it's for real, can't geterdone. Any help would be accepted gratefully. Ed

bbbair 04-06-2007 10:25 PM

RE: Landing Warbirds

Well ... I hate to be blunt but there is no other way ... [:o]

As a Newbee - you do not have the skills to fly a war bird - as you have attested to (10 planes in 12 months - not good) [&o]

In this hobby there is a definate learning curve; trainer, second plane (like a tiger 2) and after a year or three you move up to an acrobatic plane.

You have missed the two intermediate steps... :eek:

A Warbird is by nature an unstable and FULLY aerobatic plane - thats how they stay alive long enough to kill their opponents... they make poor trainers and second planes... [:'(]

That having been said they are heavy AC and land FAST!, you have to add flaps and often "FLY THEM INTO THE GROUND" [X(]

If you are not ready for that - buy a TIGER 2 - it's a GREAT 2nd plane.

fancman 04-06-2007 11:03 PM

Read this. http://www.rcwarbirds.com/techniguespage.htm#t1 Sounds to me you have missed much proper flight training and should give up the quest to fly warbirds until you master lesser aircraft.

ho2zoo 04-06-2007 11:15 PM