Notices
Radio Manufacturer Direct Support Direct Reps from the largest radio manufacturers are here to answer your questions.

Tx/Rx compatibility

Old 11-16-2022, 03:18 AM
  #1  
pommy54
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LeetonNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tx/Rx compatibility

Hi Folks
ive come back into rc after a fair break. I have a Flysky ct6b tx, a Turnigy 9x tx and an original rx for each. Theres also an assortment of orange r615x receivers and spectrum receivers.

does anybody have a list/table of what will bind with what (and maybe other brands as well?

Thanks for any help. Stay safe and well!
Old 11-16-2022, 05:09 AM
  #2  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,855
Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Welcome to the world of incompatibility. I think I saw a spreadsheet once with that information, but the manufacturer's planned obsolescence programs made the spreadsheet obsolete. It's so bad even staying with one manufacturer doesn't help. FlySky and Turnigy use a version of AFHDS but different versions aren't compatible. (AFHDS, AFHDS 2A, AFHDS 3). For example, your ctb6 has AFHDS while your 9x has AFHDS 2A. Your orange receiver is Spektrum DSM2DSMX compatible but even Spektrum has gone the way of newer, incompatible protocols. Ah profits.

On the plus side most of the cheap Chinese receivers sold by Banggood, HobbyKing, Banana Hobby and the other cheap online RC stores have AFHDS or AFHDS 2A so you have a transmitter that will work with them. Before buying a receiver always determine what protocol it uses. Otherwise, you may increase your already "assortment" of useless receivers.

OTOH, you could do what many here suggest and buy an expensive multi-protocol transmitter.
Old 11-16-2022, 08:34 AM
  #3  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,140
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rgburrill
Your orange receiver is Spektrum DSM2DSMX compatible but even Spektrum has gone the way of newer, incompatible protocols.
We have? Unless you're flying an old JR transmitter or using an old DSM2 module, you're fine using our latest receivers. I use my NX10 to fly a very sentimental plane with an AR7000 in it. I wouldn't be doing that if there were an issue.

Andy
Old 11-17-2022, 04:55 AM
  #4  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,855
Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AndyKunz
We have? Unless you're flying an old JR transmitter or using an old DSM2 module, you're fine using our latest receivers. I use my NX10 to fly a very sentimental plane with an AR7000 in it. I wouldn't be doing that if there were an issue.

Andy
"Unless" I still want to use those many old receivers I spent a lot of money on years ago. Which, I think, is the point of this thread.
Old 11-17-2022, 05:06 AM
  #5  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,140
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

I get it. We're the bad guys because we have been supporting the same protocol since 2007, and two protocols since 2010.

Andy

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.