Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

hyper 7

Old 12-20-2003, 08:58 AM
  #1  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hyper 7

I was wondering what hyper 7 model is better for the money - the hyper7 sport @ £280, or the hyper7 @ £400?
Old 12-21-2003, 06:01 AM
  #2  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

I was thinking of getting a hyper 7 but i dont know which car is better the hyper 7 or the hyper 7 sport. I have only heard that the hyper 7 has got a 4-port but the hyper 7 sport has got 3-port. Is there any other differences,which car would you choose?

Thanks
Old 12-21-2003, 07:43 PM
  #3  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

Stay away from the Sport and the regular Hyper 7 RTR.

Get either the Hyper 7 PBS RTR (I have) or Hyper 7 PBS/PCR RTR or Hyper 7 Pro.

The sport is lacking a lot of important hop-ups to be a real contender right now. The RTR has some, but not enough. The PBS and up is where it is at. I love the Hyper 7. My favorate RC out of the many I have owned.
Old 12-22-2003, 01:38 PM
  #4  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

Hi i was wondering if any one knew the diffrence between the hyper 7 and the hyper 7 sport
Old 12-22-2003, 02:05 PM
  #5  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

Hi i forgot to ask has the hyper 7 has got a 4-port and the hyper 7 sport has got 3-port.
When i went to look at a hyper 7 and the hyper 7 sport the hyper 7 was much more heavy than the sport.

would you recomend one of these cars for me i am 11 years old and have had 5 years experence with a nitro kyosho sandmaster stadiam truck?

Thanks
Old 12-23-2003, 10:56 AM
  #6  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 10,190
Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

I don't know what model the H7 "sport" is or which 3-port engine you're talking about,
they don't sell that version over here.

But I have both the "H7 Pro" and the regular (Original I thought) "H7 RTR" version which came with the 4-port, it was a fine engine to begin with.

The newer version, Like Keith Says, have some better features, but any version, Pro, RTR, PBS RTR ,PCR Pro are all good Buggies, The 8-port in the new RTR buggies is great

No reason why an 11 year old boy couldn't opperate one safely
Old 12-23-2003, 11:18 AM
  #7  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

The SE (Sport Edition) stay away from like a really bad disease. If you can not aford the $450 american dollars for the PBS RTR, then go with the regular RTR.

Here is a number of a guy in Tennessee that I order kits from. Ask for Mike: 423-351-0055
Old 12-26-2003, 08:28 AM
  #8  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

hi i just got a hyper 7 and built it and had a go at starting it.It is so hard to pull the pull start even with a lot of expereance i got it to start and run it for five mins now i have nearly done one tank of fule its fantastic.

how many tanks should i do on this hyper 7 4-port engine to run it in
Old 12-26-2003, 08:42 AM
  #9  
rcblaze
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: westpalm, FL
Posts: 649
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

I usually break in running idle 2 to 3 tanks at about 200 degree's. Then drive in circles and short burst for the next 3. Then start to tune for best results. I also have a Hyper PBS it's a nice car so far. I just got done with break in. One new pull start later it's broken in. lol
Old 12-26-2003, 09:13 AM
  #10  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

Let it idle for 4 - 5 tanks then go through normal break in process. I broken in 2 Hyper 21's same way. They are tight motors.
Old 12-26-2003, 10:42 AM
  #11  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

hi i was wondering do i need a failsafe for my hyper 7
Old 12-26-2003, 11:46 AM
  #12  
Nitro7-inactive
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ratwood, KS
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

it would be smart
Old 12-26-2003, 01:31 PM
  #13  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

YES - I use the OFNA micro failsafe on my Hyper 7. Fits right in radio box so no dirt gets on it. Most people will tell you not to put it inside because you want to see the LED. I still put it inside. My 9.5 how ever was premounted so I leave it outside the radio box.
Old 12-26-2003, 03:04 PM
  #14  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

what will it do
Old 12-26-2003, 03:32 PM
  #15  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

what settings should i use when i have run it in because if anyone has got it right it will save me messing about
Old 12-26-2003, 03:52 PM
  #16  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

hi i wonderd how fast the hyper 7 rtr will go with no hop ups just as normal of corse i will only try this when run in
Old 12-26-2003, 03:52 PM
  #17  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

A fail safe helps when you go out of range of the radio, makes the car stop instead of taking off and also makes the car stop when batteries are to low.
Old 12-26-2003, 03:54 PM
  #18  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

thanks i will buy one and i wonderd how fast the hyper 7 rtr will go with no hop ups just as normal of corse i will only try this when run in
Old 12-26-2003, 03:57 PM
  #19  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

With no mods - 38 - 40MPh.
Old 12-26-2003, 03:58 PM
  #20  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

what fule should i use after blue thunder break in fule has run out
Old 12-26-2003, 04:10 PM
  #21  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

ORIGINAL: hyper

what fule should i use after blue thunder break in fule has run out
I would not use the "break in fuel" use the same fuel you plan on using forever. I would recommend the race blend even if you do not plan on racing. I get lower temps with it. A lot of people do not use the race blend because it has less oil. I find the fuels with more oil are harder to tune with and I get higher temps. Sounds backwards i know. But that is just what I have experienced myself.

I run nothing less than 25% nitro in all my nitro's. You hear a lot of people say your engine won't last as long and so forth. I know a quite a few people that will tell you they will last the same. Because everyone in my club has used both - the lower % of nitro in some RC's and higher % of nitro. We find the life of motor doesn't change enough to worry about it.

Any - take for what it is, Just My Opion (JMO).

Cheers, Hope it helps.
Old 12-26-2003, 04:14 PM
  #22  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

thanks

how many tanks of fule will it take for the pull start to free up i have run 1 tank of fule so far
Old 12-26-2003, 04:17 PM
  #23  
studysession
 
studysession's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Freedom, PA
Posts: 10,456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

Funny - I let mine idle 4 -5 - then do a normal break in. Around the 8 or 10 tanks or so. It will be easier to start.
Old 12-26-2003, 04:25 PM
  #24  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

thank what i did on the first tank is start it and slowly rev it up and down but i didnt rev it up too much
Old 12-26-2003, 04:27 PM
  #25  
Bigchris090
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: manchester, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: hyper 7

what settings should i use when i have run it in because if anyone has got it right it will save me messing about

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.