Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC 1/8th Scale Buggies
Reload this Page >

Are nitro engines, by nature, dirty??

Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Are nitro engines, by nature, dirty??

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2005, 06:34 AM
Deanwvu

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are nitro engines, by nature, dirty??

I am new to nitro RC. I know relatively nothing about nitro engines.

As an aside, anyone know a nice online FAQ or guide to nitro engine care??

Anyway, I notice that whenever I run my truck, even for just one tank, there is alot of unspent fuel kinda "splattered" on and around the engine... Does this happen often?? Actually, i dont know if it iw unspent fuel, or if it is leftover lubricant fromt he fuel mixture... I find I have to clean up around the engine each time I run.

Are these engines naturally dirty? Or, do I have a leak in my system? If all of my fuel is not being ignited, do I need to adjust the engine accordingly?

Again, would like to know how to tune my engine... link, anyone??

Thanks!!!
Old 08-30-2005, 06:57 AM
schmidty

Default RE: Are nitro engines, by nature, dirty??

If it is coming out of the bottom of the carb then you might have a leak. if it is coming out of your pipe your engine is just rich, but it sounds like you have a leak, if its getting all over your car.
Old 08-30-2005, 07:02 AM
HyperDrive

You may find that the rubber gasket is split or perished at the manifold. This will cause oil to splatter around the engine and chassie.
Also make sure the engine head is on tight and the plug is screwed down.
Old 08-30-2005, 07:09 AM
SkrapIron