Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Which allen wrench set do I need?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2008, 09:19 PM
kman43

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which allen wrench set do I need?

I have a Losi 8ight kit and I need an allen wrench set. Nothing (tooo) expensive but something that has quality that will do the trick for most of the screws. Amain or Tower would be fine for me to purchase from but whatever! I am new to the Losi buggy. Do I need Metric or Standard? And which set will do the majority of my needs for adjusting? Thanks
Old 12-07-2008, 09:54 PM
IvanG
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Which allen wrench set do I need?

I would buy dynamite .5 to 3mm drivers. I believe they have a set.
Old 12-07-2008, 10:07 PM
SAVAGEJIM

ORIGINAL: kman43

I have a Losi 8ight kit and I need an allen wrench set. Nothing (tooo) expensive but something that has quality that will do the trick for most of the screws. Amain or Tower would be fine for me to purchase from but whatever! I am new to the Losi buggy. Do I need Metric or Standard? And which set will do the majority of my needs for adjusting? Thanks
The best allen wrenches I have come across are Bondhus, Made in teh USA.

In the pic, I ruined the 2.5mm wrench on a high grade German steel grub screw. I also tried to use an HPI allen (made of Taiwan steel), but I stopped without even applying half the force I dod on teh Bondhus. If I would have applied teh same force on the HPI wrench as I did on my American Bondhus, I would have twisted that Taiwan steel into a pretzle

Bondhus is not oo expensive either, cost me liek $8 USD, you may be able to find them for $10 CD
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75682.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	1085893  
Old 12-07-2008, 11:57 PM
*FULL-REVS*

a use a set called "top pro" they are metric and have never failed getting a screw/bolt out yet
Old 12-08-2008, 02:07 AM