Notices
RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

A/C engined hydroplane

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2014, 05:01 AM
vintageshack

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default A/C engined hydroplane

I recently downloaded plans for this propeller powered hydroplane. It is roughly 3 feet long and it calls for a 9.5 inch propeller and a glow engine (030?). I am looking to go electric instead, and I am pretty new to hobby r/cs. What size electric motor should I use? Do I need a reduction gearbox? What kind of prop should I get? I'm sure I'll have more questions before all is said and done, but I need a base to go on. The reason I am deciding to go electric is that I am building this up in Iqaluit, Nunavut which is on Baffin Island so it is difficult to get nitro fuel up here! Also electric is much cleaner and lower maintenance. Sorry for the sideways pic! I'm doing this from my phone..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20140530_231206.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	2.19 MB
ID:	2019816   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140530_231125.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	1.71 MB
ID:	2019817  
Old 08-05-2014, 03:48 AM
Jeremy_H

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The Cobra is a well known plan, as it's one of very few available FOC on the net, but seeing them actually built seems rare. I don't want to put a downer on the idea but word is they are very sensitive to trim, and with that in mind I'd be cautious about going electric, because the weight of the motor and battery might be difficult to configure in a position to meet the balance needs of the boat. As such it may need some re-designing to allow access to batteries etc. Dooable though.

A .30 motor is essentially a 5cc, others will advise on electrics as I know little about them, but it'll be no problem at all to match the expected power, even exceed without extra weight.