Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Need help for electronic steering for kayak motor. COMPLETE Newbie

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Need help for electronic steering for kayak motor. COMPLETE Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 02:15 PM
silentskorn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help for electronic steering for kayak motor. COMPLETE Newbie

<xml><o:OfficeDocumentSettings><o:AllowPNG /></o:OfficeDocumentSettings></xml>

I was hoping someone could give me some insight on a project that I am working on. Let me begin by saying I don't really have any experience whatsoever with electronics like the ones I am asking about. There is a great amount of information that I am seeking and I understand if someone may not want to help.

I have been in the process of attaching a trolling motor to my kayak (Full size). I already have it setup to run through a scooter controller and a throttle all connected to a 12 volt battery. I originally planned on just using the existing foot pedals to steer the kayak by turning the motor shaft; like most kayak rudder setups but with a motor instead. There is a threaded steel rod through the shaft with eyebolts on each end. Each eye would have a cable attached that would run through each side of the kayak to connect to the foot pedals. So basically if I pushed the right foot pedal forward then the wire would pull the right eye and turn the shaft counter clockwise.

However, I thought it would be awesome if I could do this electronically. This is where I hit my limit because I have no idea what to really look for. I have read about servo motors and linear actuators but once again I don't necessarily know if they would be functional.