Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

RC Boat to take out a line fishing line - your wisdom needed

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

RC Boat to take out a line fishing line - your wisdom needed

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2004, 07:07 PM
ManDownUnder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Boat to take out a line fishing line - your wisdom needed

Hi all - complete newbie here (when it comes to designing and making RC boats...)

My end goal is to have a boat that will take about 1000 meters of fishing line out to sea, drop it and return to shore. I've heard of something similar done with a little deep V boat, 2 channel RC etc but not had the opportunity of seeing it up close. It's 20cc, 1000mm by 400mm, deep V with futuba 2 channel RC kit (rudder and gas?)

I have a couple of questions regarding what I need to be doing re the hull, power unit and RC gear, as I'd like to make one myself. I am a fitter by trade so physically making it etc will be some learning, but I'm not starting from scratch...

Ideally it would be quiet
My thought is that I'd prefer to go electric rather than Gas to address this but the weight consideration of electric and the power output from Gas make Gas the more desired... That being said I expect the line to go out, and after the noise has died down THEN the fish will be biting so noise, while it is a consideration is in not an important one overall.

Is there an electric setup that would do the job, or is that simply inappropriate for some reason that I haven't though of?

The RC gear will need a range of 1000 - 1500 meters
The's how long the line is and I want to be able to turn the boat and actually have it come back... If I have to spend a little more to get something with twice the range I think I'd be inclined to do that...

What is the standard way of dealing with a vehicle that threatens to go beyond range?