Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Solar Boat help

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2007, 01:34 AM
Ryuk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Solar Boat help

Im new to building r/c's. I've enjoyed controling aircraft,helies and boats but the thing i hated most was the wait between recharge times...I hope to get around this problem by adding solar cells to the flight deck of an aircraft carrier model(chosen soley for large surface area for solar cells, other suggetions welcome). I hope to be able to run it solely on the solar cells with a small back-up battery incase i run into shade. If thats not possible at the very least I hope to use the panels to extend the life of the batteries. Does anyone know what the average Amp usage of a radio reciever is? Also the lowest voltage reciever I can find is 4.8 is this is lowest out there? i dont need a very strong reciever just one that works. Low power consumption is key as I can either have lots of current or lots of voltage, really hard to get both. Im pretty sure I'm gonna be forced to work a 30"-40" boat, since that is the only way to fit all the solar panels i need to get 5V of power...has anyone tried this or something like it before? Suggestions of recievers, motors, or anything for that matter would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-19-2007, 04:55 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: Solar Boat help

Receivers will work, sort of, down to about three volts, but that is cutting deep into the designed safty margin to allow for getting the model back with a dying battery. The servos will be reluctant to do anything at that kind of voltage, and I would be surprised if you could gather enough energy to power the boat along, even in sunny California.
Old 09-19-2007, 10:01 AM
Ryuk