Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

HELP!! First timer

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

HELP!! First timer

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2008, 01:09 AM
ZarkSniper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP!! First timer

Hi all, recently found and registered on the site. Please excuse any "dumb" questions. I am brand new to the RC game with the recent purchase of a used BlackJack 26 brushless boat (appears to be in "like new" condition). As far as I can tell from reading some info on here, my boat is 100% stock.

I purchased new batteries and a charger when I bought the boat from a dealer. It seems to run ok...until I squeeze the trigger past approx 1/2. It cuts out. If I return the trigger back to rest, then start going again ok...of course until I try full speed again. The weird thing is, when I remove the boat from the water and it's on the dock, I can hold the throttle wide open no problem (I know, only for a second). I have tried to reset the ESC? by following the instructions, but that doesn't seem to have done anything for me.

Anything you can think of for me to try next would be appreciated. Remember...lamens terms...lol

After reading some excellent posts on the site, i was planning on getting the Aeromarine kit for the boat soon...any other items, or suggestions for the boat?

Regards and thanks for any help
ZS
Old 08-20-2008, 01:19 AM
LtDoc

Default RE: HELP!! First timer

Sounds like the ESC just isn't capable of providing enough current for more than about 1/2 throttle when under load (prop in the water), it's ratings are being exceeded. When run at about 1/2 throttle for a while, does anything get uncomfortably 'warm'? At least that's my first impression. I think I'd check the wiring and connections, make sure they are good, and take a general look at things. Anything seem maybe not exactly 'right'? From there, your guess is as good as mine...