Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New kid with questions

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

New kid with questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2010, 10:36 AM
tysmagic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New kid with questions

Howdy everybody! I'm a newbie to the hobby, I am big into real cars and have always loved doing work on them. I have a pretty thorough understanding of the electrics and mechanics of a car engine so hopefully that could come in handy when I'm working on r/c's. I'm a youngin', sophmore in college, live in Tennessee. East TN is home, middle TN for school. If anyone is in the area I would love to come out and see boats or cars running and pick up some tips!

On to the questions, I recently picked up an older nitro boat, a Traxxas Nitro Vee which runs on a TRX Pro .15. It was apart, but I've spent some time looking at diagrams and putting it all back together. It needed a carb, some bolts, and new hoses. I believe it is all back together correctly, so if that is an okay assumption here is my issue; it won't start. It doesn't seem to be getting a spark. I tested this the same way you would a lawn mower, pulled the glow plug cap off held it close to the plug attempted to start it, but Icouldn't see any spark. Could the glow plug be bad, could the lead to the glow plug be bad? How can I check? Any other thoughts on why it wouldn't have a spark or what I should check.

I also feel like it may not be getting fuel. I can't see any fuel running through the hose and the carb still looks as fresh as can be. Can I prime the engine somehow before trying to start it?