Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Total noob, designing a car from scratch.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Total noob, designing a car from scratch.

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2006, 01:48 AM
Latyshev

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total noob, designing a car from scratch.

Hello folks!

Im a long term automotive fan from Moscow (yeah, far far away). I own a lotus elise, drive it daily and race it. However, i have never engineered anything. So, i cant resist the urge and i need to scratch it!

I decided to start small, just a weekend project with total budget on everything no more then $2k, but do all bits which can be made in home enviroment myself.

Before this day i have never heard of rc ic cars (i did know there were planes, but always assumed they were bloody expensive). I was looking around the internet for small engines and to my surprise discovered a huge world of rc cars!

I stayed on the net for some hours and did some research, probably ended up with more questions then i started with, but stumbled upon this great forum. I really hope some of you will lend me a hand with all this [X(]

The project im after is a fun engineering exercise. It will be a small sportscar. Im going to weld the chassis, which will be aluminium tubular spaceframe. Suspension double wishbone all round. Body from carbon fibre (hopefully). I am trying to make it as light as possible and as well made as possible, with some serious punch to boot of course!

This is the inspiration (lotus concept circut car)