Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Race/practice on dusty track?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 09:41 AM
ptarp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Race/practice on dusty track?

For those who race their car/buggy/truck, etc off-road. Do you run on dusty tracks, or only after they've been watered down to keep dust to a minimum? I'm pretty new to racing, and have mostly bashed my vehicles on grass. This will be my first real racing season at a local off-road dirt track. I went out to practice last night and the track was very dry...very dusty. I really gave it no thought and practiced anyway. I stopped after 2 tanks because it was getting late. After the usual after-run check, I noticed an extreme amount of dust that seemed to make its way in every nook of the buggy. I spun the wheels and could hear the dust grinding inside the bearings...after only 2 runs at the track! The air filter was caked with a thick film of grimey dirt that I scraped off to get ready for the 2nd tank. I am going to completely break the buggy down to clean out all the dirt and free up the bearings. I know the buggy will get dirty, but this just seemed excessive. So, this leads me to think that most racers run only on tracks that have been watered (or is otherwise free of massive dust)? What do you think?
Old 04-22-2007, 09:49 AM
Checkpointracer

Default RE: Race/practice on dusty track?

At the track I practiced once it was regularly watered down.
Old 04-22-2007, 11:04 AM
mattnin

Depends on the track. I have raced on tracks that were so clean that your truck looked new after the race. My home track is watered twice daily. I only get mud on the truck after a wreck or on the underbelly after the track has been refinished. I'd much rather get mud on the truck than dust.