Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Information Needed

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2007, 08:42 PM
rebel8764

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Information Needed

Hello, I am new to the entire R/C thing, and I have a bunch of questions. Most of these questions will be Nitro-related also.

Question 1 & 2: What tools will be need to maintain my R/C? And will any tool be more important than others? (Ex.) "You really need tool X, but you 'can wait to get/not need' tool A"

Question 3: Are there any parts/supplies that I need to get extras of or replace on a regular basis? I stay about 30 miles from the nearest Hobby Store, and it would be a pain to have to make multiple trips, especially if I could just buy extras when I'm there, or when ordering online.

Question 4 & 5 & 6: Related to question 3, what is the lifespan of the different parts of the R/C?, I know that things like tires and fuel would need to be replaced; but, how long do parts last? If under light use(no really hard crashes or bashes) do other parts of the R/C break easily?

Whew, I think thats all of the questions I have for tonight, maybe after a night's sleep I will think of some more questions.

Actually I haven't decided on what R/C to get,but I am leaning toward 1/8 scale buggies. I would just like to get some 'behind-the-scenes' information so to speak. When I saw my first R/C(Bi-Plane) I was like "man that's sweet!" but then I started to think about all the things they had to do to get it working. So I went to the bookstore and bought a couple of R/c magazines. Then I started researching R/C's online and discovered that the R/C world is bigger than I thought. Hopefully with all of you guys help, I will be able to start on the right foot and enjoy my R/C experience.
Old 08-30-2007, 08:51 PM
Nick2618

Default RE: Information Needed