Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

New RC Nitro Truck won't start - Glow Plug Issue?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

New RC Nitro Truck won't start - Glow Plug Issue?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008, 12:34 AM
benright

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New RC Nitro Truck won't start - Glow Plug Issue?

Hi, I can not get my new RC Nitro Truck to start. I am fairly new to Nitro but know the basics. With this one though, it does not try to start. Tried everything.

I noticed that the Glow Plug does not feel hot after having the glow ignitor on it for a few minutes while it is in the engine. shouldn't the glow plug be red hot if the glow ignitor is attached while on the engine? If I take the glow plug out and put it in the ignotor, then take it out of the ignitor, it is very hot to the touch. But when in the engine, it is cold after being attached for a few minutes without even trying to start. What could cause this?
Old 12-28-2008, 12:51 AM
samguan

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: New RC Nitro Truck won't start - Glow Plug Issue?

remove the glow plug from the engine and the test it with a glow igniter.. if it becomes red then the glow plug is fine...(not the whole glow plug being red like you said.. the burning part which is at the bottom of the glow plug)

you won't see glow plug burning while it is in the engine.. you have to take it out.

trim the throttle up a little and then try to start... maybe it's too cold.. heat it up with a hair dryer and then try to start
Old 12-28-2008, 12:59 AM
benright