Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

HPI Car Won't Idle

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2009, 07:43 PM
1sikg35

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HPI Car Won't Idle

im not sure if this is the right place to post this but im having trouble with my HPI gas powered car(racing, not drift). I bought it about 2 weeks ago and it has been acting up lately. I broke it in properly and everytime i start it up it idles really high and almost sounds like it is 80-90% open throttle. I checked my idle switch on the remote control and everything seems ok i have the idle set to the lowest option and yet it still does this i was told it might be running too rich how do i tune it so that it wont jump to a high throttle as soon as she cranks. any help would be appreciated im a noob to this so no negative remarks please.
Old 03-29-2009, 09:14 PM
DaveG55

Default RE: HPI Car Won't Idle

Rather than randomly tweaking needles you need to reset all the needles (HSN, LSN and idle screw) to factory settings and retune from scratch.
Old 03-29-2009, 09:22 PM
twomanytoys

First off you NEVER use the remote to make adjustments. Everything needs to be done on the carb and linkages. Once everything is set then you can make minor adjustments with the remote. The remote should be zeroed out prior to making adjustments to the carb and linkages. It sounds like your idle screw is too far open. A high idle does not mean its running rich. Your carb opening at idle should only be about 1mm open. You lean out your high speed needle first then low speed then idle screw again.
Old 03-30-2009, 01:36 AM
1sikg35