Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

idle for ~5 secs, then shuts off. Need help.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

idle for ~5 secs, then shuts off. Need help.

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2009, 09:00 PM
littlebahamutgtr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default idle for ~5 secs, then shuts off. Need help.

Hi,

I am very new to the RC scene and just got a HPI Nitro RS4 RTR3( Silvia body). I got this car from Hobby People and was very excited to finally have a Nitro car. When I first got it, it simply wouldn't start at all. I took it back this morning to have ther Hobby People employee troubleshoot it. They played around with the screws for a while until it finally started. However, I started it up at home to find that after about 5 seconds of idling, it stalls. I am not sure which kind of screw such as idle/high speed I should be trying to adjust. Please help me solve this problem so I can go nitro drifting on the parking lot soon. Thank you!
Old 04-18-2009, 09:04 PM
budha24

Default RE: idle for ~5 secs, then shuts off. Need help.

Did you break in the engine when you first got it. That needs to be the first step with any new engine. It probably gives you some tips in the directions to accomplish this if not their are a bunch of threads on ways to do this.
Old 04-19-2009, 01:39 AM
littlebahamutgtr

I don't see how I can even do the break in part if I can't get it to idle. Manual says the first step in breaking in the engine is to put the body on a block and let the wheels run until the 1st tank is gone. I can't do it if the car keeps stalling out every 5 seconds. =/
Old 04-19-2009, 08:16 AM
derrick05