Notices
RC Car Radio Equipment Discuss specific topics related to RC car radios. For general or non rc car specific radio topics please see our regular radio discussion forum.

replacing receiver antennae

Old 01-26-2008, 06:56 PM
  #1  
tbfoto
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 255
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default replacing receiver antennae

I have an older Airtronics AM radio and the receiver antenna got bent very badly and about 6 inches of it broke off. I want to replace it with new wire. I know that it must be the same length. I have not been able to find a replacement "Airtronics" antenna but I have seen some "Futaba" wire. Do you think there would be any difference as long as it was cut to the right length?

Thanks,
tbfoto
Old 01-26-2008, 07:39 PM
  #2  
Redharris
 
Redharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Panorama, CA
Posts: 2,137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: replacing receiver antennae

AM is AM. I'm gonna go out on a Limb here, and say that the futaba AM radio antenna will work fine.
Besides, if you got a failsafe, you will have protection if ,for some reason you loose contact wit the car. LOL it IS a car right? Not a plane or copter? lol. THATS a whole other level of Destruction, in which case I would not take Chances.
Old 01-26-2008, 10:33 PM
  #3  
tbfoto
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 255
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: replacing receiver antennae

Yes it is an electric car. I dont use a fail safe though.
Old 01-27-2008, 02:42 AM
  #4  
SManMTB
Senior Member
 
SManMTB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 5,253
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: replacing receiver antennae


ORIGINAL: tbfoto

I have an older Airtronics AM radio and the receiver antenna got bent very badly and about 6 inches of it broke off. I want to replace it with new wire. I know that it must be the same length. I have not been able to find a replacement "Airtronics" antenna but I have seen some "Futaba" wire. Do you think there would be any difference as long as it was cut to the right length?

Thanks,
tbfoto

It will work fine. The length is the importnant part. Regular AWG 28 wire will do fine too.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.