Notices
RC Drifting Discuss all aspects of rc drifting here!

New Racer

Old 12-27-2005, 09:13 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Racer

I just got a Yokomo Drift package, and I bought a Novak GTB speed controller with Novak Velociti 6.5R brushless motor. Not knowing much about rc drifting, does this sound suitable?

Thanks!
Leo
Old 12-28-2005, 10:15 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

Here's a couple pics

The red & yellow rims are on the way out, but they came with the kit for now.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68977.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	79.7 KB
ID:	376799   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av68361.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	376800  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:17 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
coolkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: coolkidville, OH
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

The car looks great, but im not positive how its going to perform, i would try it out to see how it does. Im saying this becuase of the power of your brushless system, it might actually be too fast for drifting, but then again like i said, im not sure. Good luck, i hope it works.
Old 12-28-2005, 02:31 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 585
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

dude i hate you! that car is too nice! lol. i run a TC3 with a Novak ss5800 brushless system and a Spektrum DX3 Transmiter. i love your car. i want a yokomo but i nexer have the dough . well sweet car and enjoy it!
Old 12-28-2005, 06:30 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

Yes, thats what I was wondering about. I see all these people saying they use like 17t + motors to drift, and I bought a 6.5t.. lol

Well I could always put rubber on and drag race!! [sm=surprised.gif]
Old 12-28-2005, 06:32 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

Yea I didnt want to buy some chincy kit, and I'm new so I had to do a little research. Thanks for the compliments! Not bad for my first build, eh?

Old 12-28-2005, 08:50 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Goaferboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Banbury, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

the yokomo kits are good arent they? good instructions. just made the rx7 street version of it myself. pics here: http://photobucket.com/albums/b76/goaferboy/rc%20car/
Old 12-28-2005, 10:11 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
coolkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: coolkidville, OH
Posts: 145
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

yeah ur car is fricken sweet, if your gonna try drifting it, then i would suggest to try abs over pvc tires, ive heard they have a little more grip, that things gonna fly, haha.
Old 12-29-2005, 10:31 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

ORIGINAL: Goaferboy

the yokomo kits are good arent they? good instructions. just made the rx7 street version of it myself. pics here: http://photobucket.com/albums/b76/goaferboy/rc%20car/
Yea man! Everything fit like it's supposed to, everything is made nicely. The instructions were right on. They give you a lot of option pieces too, thats great. Top quality, worth the extra money.

Very nice RX7 you got there, too!!
Old 12-31-2005, 07:11 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Goaferboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Banbury, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

is the chrome paint on your rims starting to flake off? mine seems to be although i may have pranged it on something.
Old 12-31-2005, 09:10 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

ORIGINAL: Goaferboy

is the chrome paint on your rims starting to flake off? mine seems to be although i may have pranged it on something.
Yea I found the yellow and red paint on the rims chips off with the greatest of ease.. [X(]
Old 01-01-2006, 12:25 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
×SlappY×'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brossard, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

get gp3300's, those piranha 1500's will give you about 5 minutes or so of runtime, the brushless needs alot of power, and those batteries wont be able to supply it. with those batteries, chacnes are your car will have wierd performance.
Old 01-01-2006, 12:38 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
capone12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: richmond, VA
Posts: 1,269
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

ORIGINAL: sl4ppinb4ss3r

get gp3300's, those piranha 1500's will give you about 5 minutes or so of runtime, the brushless needs alot of power, and those batteries wont be able to supply it. with those batteries, chacnes are your car will have wierd performance.
I agree 100%. If you spent that much money on electronics why are you running like $10 batteries? The batteries power the vehicle man. With all novak brushless motors, the better the batteries you use, the better the performance. With that motor, I really want to see a video of you drifting with it! Im not doubintg your skills or anything its just that I drifted some with my SS4300 on 7-cells and I thought that was going mightly fast compared to most of the videos I have seen where they cant be going much faster than 20 and Im going more than 30. For my t-spec I just wrapped the stock tires with electrical tape because they were basically done anyway, those things wear quickly just for a heads up to anybody looking at getting a t-spec or some t-spec tires.
Old 01-01-2006, 12:15 PM
  #14  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

ORIGINAL: sl4ppinb4ss3r

get gp3300's, those piranha 1500's will give you about 5 minutes or so of runtime, the brushless needs alot of power, and those batteries wont be able to supply it. with those batteries, chacnes are your car will have wierd performance.
Yea I had no idea at the time, this is my first car. It's a Piranha 1900 and it lasts about 8 minutes. But I already got 2 new SMC 3600's. http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXJZD1&P=ML Not a bad price, either.

Thanks for the tips! [8D]
Old 01-01-2006, 12:18 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PENNSVILLE, NJ
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

ORIGINAL: capone12

ORIGINAL: sl4ppinb4ss3r

get gp3300's, those piranha 1500's will give you about 5 minutes or so of runtime, the brushless needs alot of power, and those batteries wont be able to supply it. with those batteries, chacnes are your car will have wierd performance.
I agree 100%. If you spent that much money on electronics why are you running like $10 batteries? The batteries power the vehicle man. With all novak brushless motors, the better the batteries you use, the better the performance. With that motor, I really want to see a video of you drifting with it! Im not doubintg your skills or anything its just that I drifted some with my SS4300 on 7-cells and I thought that was going mightly fast compared to most of the videos I have seen where they cant be going much faster than 20 and Im going more than 30. For my t-spec I just wrapped the stock tires with electrical tape because they were basically done anyway, those things wear quickly just for a heads up to anybody looking at getting a t-spec or some t-spec tires.
Unfortunately, as good as the Novak GTB controller is, it only supports 6 cell batteries. I'll live with that considering the options the controller gives me.
Old 01-02-2006, 06:16 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
×SlappY×'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brossard, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,725
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: New Racer

ORIGINAL: LeoJr

ORIGINAL: sl4ppinb4ss3r

get gp3300's, those piranha 1500's will give you about 5 minutes or so of runtime, the brushless needs alot of power, and those batteries wont be able to supply it. with those batteries, chacnes are your car will have wierd performance.
Yea I had no idea at the time, this is my first car. It's a Piranha 1900 and it lasts about 8 minutes. But I already got 2 new SMC 3600's. http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXJZD1&P=ML Not a bad price, either.

Thanks for the tips! [8D]
Good stuff, your going to have alot more fun now. you can also get batteries here

www.boomboombatteries.com or PM Elmo6s he owns the company, hes here on rcu

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.