Notices
RC Drifting Discuss all aspects of rc drifting here!

got liscense plates

Old 02-15-2006, 06:10 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default got liscense plates

this what happens when i have too much time and not enough to do.

I thought I'd share.


now if I can just get my motor done, I'll be all set. ;D
Old 02-15-2006, 09:58 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 774
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

fackin' sweet
Old 02-15-2006, 04:34 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
annie_himself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Prairiville, LA
Posts: 6,254
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: got liscense plates

...but how....
Old 02-15-2006, 05:42 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: greendale, IN
Posts: 2,544
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates


ORIGINAL: annie_himself

...but how....

just goto BMV!!
Old 02-16-2006, 09:53 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

It's kinda a pain. Well, actually, getting the plate is easy. Just go to your DMV website and make a personal plate. Then, you can either save the image or do a print screen. If you don't have Photoshop (and I don't) open the image in MSPAINT and cut the image of the lp. Then, you can either open it in whatever picture app you have on your computer. Then, size it, prinit it, and viola. I used some cardboard to add some mass to the plate so it just doesn't just flap in the wind. Then, I used double sided tape to stick it to my body. I'll probably redo it at some point to get proper sizing. It's a bit short.
Old 02-21-2006, 06:13 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

hey dude i dont under stand how to do it i went to my dmv page and cant figure it out anywere pls HELP ME OUT
Old 02-21-2006, 10:23 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

i pm'd u back.
Old 03-02-2006, 11:57 AM
  #8  
 
Nitro Fumes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 715
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

You can go to a web site called ACME Liscence Plate Maker, just google it. It's used for making liscence plate for plastic models. You can use for your R/C car too. You pick a state, a year and type in your text. Then save the .jpg on you PC and scale it out when you print it.
Old 03-03-2006, 10:15 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Faifield, CT
Posts: 942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

That's pretty cool. I want to do that now.
Old 03-03-2006, 12:03 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
RC-Drift UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Here's mine:

























Cool or what
Old 03-03-2006, 12:46 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

All I see is red x's, but I'm sure it looks nice. [:-]
Old 03-03-2006, 04:08 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
RC-Drift UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Fixed it
Old 03-03-2006, 05:54 PM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton ParkVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

ive been doin that for ages...i even made lil rego stikers
i jus made the plate in MS Paint, being in australia, our plates r simple
i startd playn with the windows a while ago, on my monaro...put a roll cage in (paintd sum straws silver an glued them in)
put in sum fly screen for a race net, paintd a piece of flyscreen silver an put it in a cut out in the bumper as a cooler..
there's heaps of lil sik stuff u can do, i noticed a few guys on here have xhaust pipes, pretty tuff..
i jus drilld out a cone an slid it over my tune pipe an had it as a flared tip...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw66451.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	419437  
Attached Images  
Old 03-03-2006, 06:01 PM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton ParkVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

heres a few ive done over the recent year...
jus bought the silverado yesterday
neon_guy sorry for the likeness in plate man, i onli jus noticed it now...lol
i ownd an sold this plate b4 for my real car.. had it on a Datsun 180B
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43701.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	419439   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx75682.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	419440   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd81943.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	419441  
Old 03-04-2006, 06:25 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
RC-Drift UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Funny how I never thought about this before, they do look good, what's the best stuff to print them on to fix to the car?
Old 03-04-2006, 06:38 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Hey, RC-DRIFT-UK, I still can't see your pics. I'll try it on my personal laptop. A lot of stuff is blocked here at work and that could be the problem. D@mn Army and their D@mn websense...blocking all the good stuff about the internet.
Old 03-04-2006, 12:42 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
RC-Drift UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Isle of Man, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Go to my drift gallery, they're hosted there http://rc-drift.com/rc-drift-gallery...s.php?album=28

Kev
Old 03-04-2006, 11:21 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton ParkVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

i jus used normal printer paper an stuk it on with sticky tape
works fine for me
Old 03-05-2006, 08:31 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Yeah. There's a few different ways to do it. I print it out on regular paper and put cardboard behind it to add some density. I don't want it just flying away.
Old 03-05-2006, 10:37 PM
  #20  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton ParkVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

ahhye...that hadnt even crossd my mind
im in the middle of makn a new shell...still tossn up between doin it like my old monaro shell (race prepd - cage, netting, lil bits an pieces) or doin it up
as a monaro cop car...

wat yuz rekn?
Old 03-05-2006, 11:10 PM
  #21  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton ParkVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

all so for added effect...for those of u with Nitro Cars
spin ur tune pipe around so the xhaust is facing underneath the car, not directly down, at a 45 degree angle so its no sprayin on the rear tyers
this make it look like both rear end wheels r smoking up..as u drift down the street the smokes shifts sides, looks awesome
better to have it comn out from under the rear of the car then comin out 1 side of the car... i think anyway

good luck an happydrifting
Old 03-06-2006, 07:31 AM
  #22  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Neon_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

I'd do a race prep. That's just my preference. I'd rather see a highly detailed (from what ur saying) race car than another cop car. I guess if you took it as far as making led strobes for the lights and the sirens and whatnot, it'd be worth doing it as a cop car. Guess it depends on what detail you'd rather spend your time with.
Old 03-09-2006, 05:07 AM
  #23  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton ParkVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

we got sik cop cars but here...i was guna go LEDs but not sirens...wouldnt no where to start...+ weight is an issue i found out
the race prepd 1 i had was tuff...
i miss it [&o]

heres a few pix of our cop cars getn around atm
and ofcorse ur typical white an lu stripes (how boring)
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57468.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	423016   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw73415.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	423017   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv54006.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	423018   Click image for larger version

Name:	Le93291.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	122.0 KB
ID:	423019  
Old 03-15-2006, 05:55 PM
  #24  
Senior Member
 
ASSOCIATED_DRIVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA CA
Posts: 1,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

Nice work fellas, Now all you guys need is a nice license frame frame to go with those plates
Old 04-22-2006, 08:38 AM
  #25  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: got liscense plates

I wanted German Number Plates for my WRX (don't ask why, yes i know it's Japanese...). So I just held the body up to the screen and eyeballed it to get right size, printed it out (and yes I'm cheap) used clear packing tape cut to size so it's a few mm bigger than the plate and put it in the tub. It dosen't really look 3D since it's taped on, but I'm a noob; so I felt clever. Oh and I'll put some pictures soon, need batterys for the camera.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.