Notices
RC Drifting Discuss all aspects of rc drifting here!

d-box

Old 09-06-2008, 07:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default d-box

I'm new to Rc Drifting and I was thinking about buying a D-Box for my Nitro 4-tec 3.3. Getting bored of the usual straight racing and drifting poped up in mind as an alternative. The retail for a D-Box is $90+shipping. I was wondering if anyone is getting a D-Box for a better price than the retail? Also if anyone has a used D-Box lying around, I wouldn't mind buying it.
Old 09-06-2008, 09:57 PM

Default RE: d-box

My disclaimer to this post is that I'm fairly new to drifting too, and I really don't have any personal experience with a d-box. I'm sure people will have different opinions.

I know it's not what you're asking, but I would recommend learning to drift without the d-box. I drift a nitro too, and part of the fun is learning to control it. I suppose that's easy for me to say because I bought the HPI RS4 Nitro Drift RTR. The d-box really kind of drives the car for you a little. It's made to balance throttle and steering to keep you in a drift with less effort. It's definitely a faster way to a nice clean drift, but (personally) my favorite part is learning to balance that on my own. Of course...I probably crash a bit (lot) more than someone with a d-box, but it's all part of the fun for me!

I'm sure a d-box is nice to have, but I decided not to go that route.
Old 09-06-2008, 11:29 PM

I tried drifting on my Nitro 4tec 3.3 that I've recently bought on the stock tires a couple of times, but never really seem to be getting anywhere. From what I see most of the time, is that the back tires are always worn out faster because the power is transfered faster and the front wheels have less power. Most of the time it's doing burnouts or oversteering and spins instead. Maybe it's just me have a hard time handling it, but it's pretty hard to drift without the D-Box. Do actual drifting tires do a better job?
Old 09-07-2008, 06:13 PM