Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Brushless help please

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2010, 05:48 PM
mfroot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brushless help please

Ok i just ordered a losi 8ight-e 2.0 I am very new to electric have been running nitro.1st thing the kv rateing i see on motors like 1700kv or 2200kv what does this mean? Also what esc motor combos is everyone running and not having problems with.
Old 12-13-2010, 06:25 PM
Krazy Chicken

Default RE: Brushless help please

the kv is basicly rpm per volt. so you take the 2200 kv motor and multiply it by say a 6s battery which voltage of that is around 22.2. and the total rpm's the motor will spin is 48840 rpms
Old 12-13-2010, 06:27 PM
FoamyVictim

The Kv rating is what tells you how may RPMs the motor will turn based on the voltage you choose. A higher Kv rating means more RPMs, at the expense of torque. High Kv motors can make smaller batteries work "ok" However, when you go with Lower Kv, and Higher Voltage, you can make the same speed more efficiently(whole system runs cooler too). That's why I run the Castle 2200 Kv system in my 8ight E on 4S(14.8V) This puts my RPMs right around 30K, pretty close to what a good nitro engine does. So it has the same speed, just way more torque.

This brushless system:

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...Package-2200kV

and this battery:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11932
Old 12-13-2010, 07:23 PM
mfroot

Thanks so much that was a big help now i see sensor ans sensorless whats the diff between the two. Also coming from nitro how is the buggy going to have brakes and will it be front and rear and can the bais be adj i like more to the rear i am asking stuff i should know and just don't thanks again for the help.
Old 12-13-2010, 07:43 PM
Krazy Chicken