Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Newbie looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2020, 05:56 AM
Hoebob69

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking for advice

Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to the hobby and there seems to be alot of information dealing with this hobby that it's becoming overwhelming to say the least. I'm a father of a 6 and 8 year old,both boys,that are starting to show interest in the rc hobby. I've always been a tinkerer on various things and it seems my boys have inherited that trait as well. Like most Fathers these days there is so much crap that my kids show interest in for maybe 5 minutes and then it never gets touched again. So now to my actual question.... we have recently started to take apart the rc that we have acquired over the years and basically making one from all of the parts we want. I don't want to drop a bunch of money and then they decide they don't want it anymore,so I'm slowly easing in to test the water. I have read what I can find but I can't find the exact info I need,which is why I'm here. I'm wanting to start with brushed motors first and see where that leads. Mostly running off road since I live in the country and have endless dirt roads. My main question is all brushed motors compatible with the esc or is there specific ones? And what is the best brushed motor for begginers on an off road?
Old 09-10-2020, 06:38 AM
bill_delong

Received 51 Likes on 45 Posts

There are some ESC's on the market which can operate either a brushed or brushless motor, so it all depends, but generally most brands of ESC's are going to operate just one or the other.