Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Newbie Electric Advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2003, 05:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Electric Advice

Ok, I'm fairly new to R/C cars, and I'm wanting to get some advice. I am planning to purchase a new R/C car/truck. I would like the ability to race it; however, most of my time will be in the park, back yard, etc.

I definitely want a kit that I can build as opposed to RTR. Mainly because I think that is a good way to get acquainted with it, and it seems like a fun project.

I'm thinking of getting:

Team Associated RC10T3 Factory Team Kit

I'd like to know if this is a decent vehicle for me to start with. My main criterion is that it have a wide selection of upgrades for future use as I learn more about the hobby. I don't want to invest in a car that will not allow me to grow as I become more familiar.

I'd also like to know recommendations on the following:[*]Radio[*]Servos[*]ESC[*]Battery[*]Charger[*]Motor (turns, winds, and brand)[*]Anything I've not mentioned that is important

Also, if you think this is not a good vehicle to start with, then please give me some alternate suggestions. I apologize for the newbie questions, but as I said, I'd like to make an informed decision. I did try searching first, but I don't think I know enough yet to search very well. TIA!

EDIT: Obviously cost is a factor, but I'm willing to spend a little more now to ensure that the products I've purchased won't become obsolete, and that I will be able to advance with my setup in the future.
Old 12-01-2003, 06:06 PM

Default RE: Newbie Electric Advice

Yes, I kit will be great for you. It will get you fimilar with the car! And yes, I would strongly reccomed the RC10T4 for a first car! It is very lightweight and has a great durability rate.