Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

Old 03-01-2004, 07:00 PM
  #1  
SuicideCabbage
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, OH,
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

I have a Tyco R/C Mutator. There is something wrong with the receiver in the car. I know how to fix it and i have the stuff i need. I just cant get into it. I take out all the screws i see and there are still two inside that i can't find the heads to. I need them out to take off the body. If anyone knows how to get to the circuit bored inside the car please tell me. Also if anyone has the plans to the car or can get me them please tell me.
The following users liked this post:
Zo2341 (01-12-2021)
Old 03-01-2004, 07:09 PM
  #2  
IhrtTamiya
Senior Member
 
IhrtTamiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New York, NY,
Posts: 191
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

why dont you invest in a real car that all you have to do is take off the body and...theres everything.
Old 03-01-2004, 07:34 PM
  #3  
SuicideCabbage
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, OH,
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

Because im too poor!
Old 03-01-2004, 09:03 PM
  #4  
RedDawg303
Senior Member
 
RedDawg303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 555
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

we cant really help you because those arent the kind R/C's discussed here. tycos arent meant to be disassembled so i dont think that much will be accesable.
Old 03-02-2004, 04:49 PM
  #5  
IhrtTamiya
Senior Member
 
IhrtTamiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New York, NY,
Posts: 191
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

you can get into any rc car(called ease of assembly) but yea...cant help you there. i guess look under stickers and under stuff(rub on the sticker to see if there is a screw underneath before trying to peel them up)
Old 04-08-2004, 08:26 PM
  #6  
Speed Demon572
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arras, BC, CANADA
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

I too own a tyco r/c mutator, but do you own one of the old ones or new ones? The picture is of my mutator which is an older one. As to your problem, how many screws have you been able to take out? on mine i counted 12 screws i could see. I was also wondering if you have ever been able to find replacement tires for the mutator? i have looked everywhere and had no luck.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk27475.jpg
Views:	13176
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	120147  
Old 12-31-2005, 08:37 PM
  #7  
mutator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: manchester, CT
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

i need another tyco mutator anyone have one for sale
Old 12-31-2005, 10:52 PM
  #8  
CustomTamiyas4Life
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
CustomTamiyas4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

jeez, the forum's been obducted by tyco mutators!!!
Old 12-31-2005, 11:25 PM
  #9  
green river rc
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
green river rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Raywick, KY
Posts: 1,036
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

Sub forum???
Old 04-30-2006, 12:35 AM
  #10  
cthomas2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

i have a tyco mutator and my controller got broke, and 49mhz controller will work it but, it is a takn style drive where both joysticks are up and down (left fwd or bwd and right fwd and bwd) with the extra function for rotationg tires to contol ride height. i am hoping i can buy a new controller at near by hobby shop, but would like to have a better description to offer them
if any1 can help please respond
Old 04-30-2006, 01:36 AM
  #11  
MuffinMan06
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: somewhere, KS, AMERICAN SAMOA (USA)
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

those mutators were really fun when I was a kid. I still have mine, but like you I tryed to take it apart cause I was curious what was inside. I couldn't get the body off (dont know how they did it in Home alone 3 lol) and I seriously doubt you will be able to fix it at all (unless you want to waste your money sending it back to tyco to get it fixed). Also putting another radio in would probably be useless because unless you built the electronics and stuff, there would be no way to put a hobby grade radio in. All of the parts and electronics wont be upgradeable without serious mods.
Old 04-30-2006, 08:02 AM
  #12  
Mitchell91
Senior Member
 
Mitchell91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,069
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

ORIGINAL: green river rc

Sub forum???
lol
Old 04-30-2006, 08:23 AM
  #13  
a j o e l v a r d y
Senior Member
 
a j o e l v a r d y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

Tycos are not to be disassembled I had loads as a child and i broke loads as a child

they are a throw away item

and if you do get in all there is a a circuit Bord you can't fix


sorry but scrap it!
Old 04-30-2006, 09:20 AM
  #14  
dracohowe
Senior Member
 
dracohowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 619
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

ok these are toy r/c's not the hobby grade ones that we are talking about in these forums so i highly believe you won't get anyhelp. just save up some money and get a real hobby grade r/c. some of them aren't that much
Old 04-30-2006, 09:48 AM
  #15  
darthballs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: middletown, NY
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

http://www.beatyourtruck.com/videos/Demo.zip thats wat toy rc's are for
Old 04-30-2006, 11:58 AM
  #16  
cthomas2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

mutator: the controller is pretty much run of the mill 49 MHz, i have left over controllers that work it, but nothing that will do the extra tire function.
yeah tycos are just beaters and when they are done, there done. they can be fun and are great cars for the money.
the bodies can be taken off, couple screws in the bed of the truck and couple in hood, might be more under bumper in front. been years since i took mine apart, i beleive all screws on bottom are for serious disaasembly only. i took the body off once to manually rotate tires for max body lift
Old 04-30-2006, 01:26 PM
  #17  
fugaziiv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Geneva, NY
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

all kidding aside, the little turd in that video took a hell of a beating before it died....
Old 04-30-2006, 01:35 PM
  #18  
CustomTamiyas4Life
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
CustomTamiyas4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

This thread doesn't deserve a place on rcu...
Old 04-30-2006, 04:52 PM
  #19  
fugaziiv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Geneva, NY
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

sure it does, where else can someone who is unaware of the hobby grade RCs learn about them?
Old 04-30-2006, 05:04 PM
  #20  
markpc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: birmingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

I'm sure this is RC Universe discussions of ALL that's ALL things RC. If I had a mutator I would certainly help.
Old 04-30-2006, 05:06 PM
  #21  
CustomTamiyas4Life
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
CustomTamiyas4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!


ORIGINAL: fugaziiv

sure it does, where else can someone who is unaware of the hobby grade RCs learn about them?
The back of the box. There's not much to learn about a car without replacement parts.
Old 04-30-2006, 06:55 PM
  #22  
fugaziiv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Geneva, NY
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

I'm sure that if they look at the back of the Tyco box, its prolly not going to tell them just how great Losi or AE products are. Regardless I agree with markpc, and if I had an old Tyco hanging around I'd already have it apart looking for an answer. I wonder if you can just call Tyco, it prolly won't work, but I suppose its worth a shot. Another Idea would be to PM Discgolfer, as I believe he has converted a few toy grade RCs to hobby...food for thought.
Old 04-30-2006, 07:05 PM
  #23  
cthomas2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: , CA
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

a box for a ten year old toy? yeah i stll have that, not.
tryed tyco online, u can order 3 different controllers, none of them have the extra function button
Old 04-30-2006, 08:03 PM
  #24  
CustomTamiyas4Life
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
CustomTamiyas4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

PM discgolfer...pffft, lol. He actually knows what he's doing and INTENTIONALLY got those to make them hobby grade. Hobby grade electronics and tycrap electronics are much different.
Old 04-30-2006, 08:20 PM
  #25  
fugaziiv
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Geneva, NY
Posts: 134
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tyco R/C Mutator.....Please Help!

I think you may have missed the point...

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.