Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

NiCd vs. NiMH for my application

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2007, 01:38 PM
phiberoptik

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NiCd vs. NiMH for my application

Probably an age old question within the electric RC world. NiCd vs. NiMH

I am a novice RC fan with little indepth knowledge of the RC world. I simply want to parking lot bash with my 1/10th and maybe move on to Off Road RC but staying within Electric for the simplicity of it. I like high speed and with having multiple packs, Im not too concerned about run time as I can switch them out. I never plan to officially race any of my RCs.

I currently have several NiCD packs and a Pirahna Quick Charger for them and thats great for the parking lot.

Would I benefit substantially by moving on to NiMH and buying a charger for them? What are the benefits and would it be worth the money for my situation?
Old 01-16-2007, 01:49 PM
running_gag

Default RE: NiCd vs. NiMH for my application

It is not an age old question anymore. Nimh are easier to maintain, give more punch per pack, longer run times, and just have a longer usefull life. a lot of us are deciding if we can afford to go to lipo.
Old 01-16-2007, 02:04 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

I think if you have good quality 2400's and compared to generic 3000 nimh it would be a mistake, but if you happen to have cheap 1500's and are comparing to 3300-4300's thn yes it would be worth it.
Old 01-16-2007, 03:23 PM
phiberoptik

yeah... lipo is for another day hahaha. I dont think I want to get into all that quite yet. Let me get bored with brushed motors and NiCD/NiMH before I mess with brushless systems and lipo.

thanks guys
Old 01-16-2007, 03:42 PM
raz54