Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

What Else should I do to my TL01

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2007, 07:15 PM
Bainji

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Else should I do to my TL01

Hey, I'm fairly new to the rc hobby, Ive had a Tamiya TL01 for a little more than a year and a half now. Ive just finished doing my first upgrades which included the RS-540 Sport Tuned Motor and the second really wasn't an upgrade but more of a necessity, see I broke my steering servo one night during a collision with the wall and a I bought a Traxxas Steering Servo for 18.99 at the local hobby shop. I forget what model it is right now but its in my profile which I plan on getting pictures up soon. The new motor has proven to be lots of fun but I don't think i'm anywhere near done. I want to turn my car into something of a rally geared car. I wanted to know what you guys recommend and i'll tell you what I have been looking into.

I think I most likely need to get the sport tuned gear set as i've read that not doing so may cause problems soon enough, more shredding of gears and what not. I also want to find out what type of tires I should get as well as if shocks are really needed because the stock shocks seem to have held up nicely when ive run it in the field im intending to be playing in most of the time. Ive even ran it down the dirt ridden roads of the Dominican Republic whenever I go down and it truly is built like a tank as ive seen in other posts. If you guys know what exactly I would need to make it more "dirt ready" or basically turn it into a rally set up please do say.
Thankyou for taking the time to read my nubbish ranting :P
Old 01-18-2007, 07:20 PM
running_gag

Default RE: What Else should I do to my TL01

bearings, definetly shocks, better batteries.
Old 01-18-2007, 07:30 PM
Bainji