Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Newbie needs help on what to buy

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2007, 03:06 AM
grit621

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie needs help on what to buy

Hi all, I'm just getting into RC. First car ever, but I remember drooling over my friends buggy years ago. I'll list what I think I want, but please feel free to offer input. I also have some questions I really need answered. So please, offere up what you can.

I'm looking at stadium trucks for bashing (is that the right term?) I'm not yet looking to race, and if I do, it wont be hard core, just against my friends or whoever. But I like having the option to upgrade if I want/need to later. But mostly, running in open lots, backyard, etc. w/a friend.

I'm thinking 1/10 or 1/18 scale. Any input? What are the differences (other than size)? Cost for parts? Difficulty to maintain? Durability? Ability to handle terrain?

What are the typical run times for 1/10 and 1/18 cars. I KNOW this varies on terrain, tires, motor and miliamps on the battery. But it seems 3000 mA for 1/10 and 1100 mA for 1/18 are typical. I'll be on mostly hardpack dirt, just goofing off. I have *NO* idea what kind of times to expect. I'm a do-it-yourself-er, and not afraid to get my hands dirty.

What does brushless provide that brushed motors do not? At this point, I'm primarily concerned with battery run time.

How important is battery quality? Any recommened brands?

How important is the charger? Should I get one that can discharge as well?

What does LiPo provide over NiMH or NiCad? Less weight? More run time? Again, I'm primarily concerned with battery run time.

How important is the remote control? I don't see myself wanting to be more than 50 yards away. Are the included AM RTR radios ok?