Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Stock rustler XL-5 Gear???

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 09:59 PM
unidot888

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock rustler XL-5 Gear???

I am in the process of ordering a rustler xl-5 and I have seen some things that people are saying that normally you should have a pinion gear 2 teeth smaller then the motor. Since the rustler comes with an 18t pinion gear is that bad should I get a 13t or sothing smaller. And if so how does that affect my speed and preformance??? Any information as I am new to the hobby will raelly help me out thnk you
Old 01-06-2008, 10:08 PM
Always Dreamin

Default RE: Stock rustler XL-5 Gear???

ORIGINAL: unidot888

I am in the process of ordering a rustler xl-5 and I have seen some things that people are saying that normally you should have a pinion gear 2 teeth smaller then the motor. Since the rustler comes with an 18t pinion gear is that bad should I get a 13t or sothing smaller. And if so how does that affect my speed and preformance??? Any information as I am new to the hobby will raelly help me out thnk you
The rustler comes with a 23t pinion. If it did come with a 18t pinion a few teeth less would be 16, I don't know where you got 13t. Order a 19t pinion and you will be ready to go. The stock Titan is 12 turn so that would be a 10t pinion (way to small). I don't know about that rule........
Old 01-06-2008, 10:12 PM
Slo-V Flyer

ORIGINAL: Always Dreamin

ORIGINAL: unidot888

The rustler comes with a 23t pinion. If it did come with a 18t pinion a few teeth less would be 16, I don't know where you got 13t. Order a 19t pinion and you will be ready to go. The stock Titan is 12 turn so that would be a 10t pinion (way to small). I don't know about that rule........