Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

LiPo VS. NiMh ??

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2009, 02:06 AM
Rodx

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LiPo VS. NiMh ??

Hi !

First thing : I'm french and I'm sorry for my poor english... Hope you'll understand...

I own an E-Firestorm since few months and I just bought an EZrun combo (5.5T/60A). And now Ineed to change my batteries and my charger. But... I don't really know if I must choose LIPO ones or NiMh ones ?...
Could you please help me to make my choice? It's probably a stupid question but I'm new in the "RCWorld" and I don't really know what are the real differences between these 2 kind of batteries...

Thanks in advance...
Rodolphe (from France)
Old 05-29-2009, 08:47 AM
Jeremy Z

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: LiPo VS. NiMh ??

The chemistry is different.

Here's a quick breakdown:

LiPos hold a charge much, much better on the shelf. They will hold a charge for months without noticable loss.

LiPos are half as heavy for a given capacity

LiPos are fragile compared to NiMH. If you get one without a hard case and you dent it, it will likely be ruined. If you try to charge it, it may burst into flames. It happened to my dad, nearly burned down his house. Good thing he was charging it in a glass baking dish. He said it shot out a green flame about a foot long.

For a given quality level, LiPos are more expensive.

LiPos need to be manually balanced; they don't automatically balance during charging like nickel cells do.

To me, the bottom line is that I don't feel like I have to keep an eye on NiMH while charging, and for LiPos, I do.

Old 05-29-2009, 08:55 AM
Rodx

Wow ! I think I'll choose NiMH ones...
Thanks JeremyZ !

Rodx
Old 05-29-2009, 09:05 AM
nitroade