Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

lipo battery, balancer, etc. what does this all mean?

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2009, 09:22 AM
93dabeast
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lipo battery, balancer, etc. what does this all mean?

im new to electric and would like to know what a lipo does, what a balancer does and everything else in between. i have a rustler xl-5 and a vendetta tc and would like to go bl but im not gonna go near it until i have a full understanding of lipo batteries, the way the charge and balancing of the cells. can someone please help me understand?
Old 12-11-2009, 09:36 AM
Jeremy Z

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: lipo battery, balancer, etc. what does this all mean?

LiPo is a battery chemistry. You don't need LiPo batteries to go brushless, but that is how to get the most out of it.

LiPos weigh half as much as NiMH for the amount of energy they have.

LiPos don't automatically balance out between the cells when charging like NiMH batteries do, so they need to be balanced with a balancer. The balancer discharges the cell(s) that are at a higher voltage compared to the others to keep them even. If they're not kept even, then when the pack is at a certain voltage, one cell might be low and the other one over-charged. When that happens to a great enough extent > fire. And it is a violent fire too; a chemical fire that can't be put out until the reaction is done. To be on the safe side, the smarter ones of us charge LiPos in some kind of fireproof environment. (as opposed to sitting there watching them charge, as the manufacturers recommend)