Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Gettiin into the sport, need help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2010, 10:23 PM
84jeepj10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gettiin into the sport, need help!

I'm new to the RC sport, been bashing whatevers cheap for years an I'm good with electronics. My wife an I are wanting to purchase new cars together. Here's the catch, I'm in the Army stationed in Korea so I need to have APO shipping, if not then I have to pay extra to have it shipped through a third party. Here's what were looking for in our cars:
1/8 scale
Electric
Off-Road
RTR
Prefer 2.4Ghz radio set but not reqired
Good listing of aftermarket replacements and hop-ups
<$300 USD

My wife picked out the Redcat Racing Backdraft 8e. I'm leaning towards Redcat's Earthquake 8e, ACME Werewolf.
Old 06-06-2010, 10:26 PM
qoisdhc oqina
My Feedback: (-1)

Default RE: Gettiin into the sport, need help!

Stay away from redcat,exceed, himoto etc They are just cheap chinese junk. And 1/8th scale under $300 is gonna be very hard, 1/10th scale would be alot easier.Look into the rustler/bandit/stampede vxl which are around $300 and include battery and charger.
Old 06-06-2010, 10:29 PM
redfisher1974

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I agree $300 is not enough for 1/8
Old 06-06-2010, 10:58 PM
84jeepj10

I thought Redcat was based out of Arizona? What's so bad about them, from other reviews and vids I've watched they seem pretty sturdy, able to take alot more damage than I'm willing to put 'em to.
Old 06-07-2010, 12:34 AM
qoisdhc oqina
My Feedback: (-1)

ORIGINAL: 84jeepj10

I thought Redcat was based out of Arizona? What's so bad about them, from other reviews and vids I've watched they seem pretty sturdy, able to take alot more damage than I'm willing to put 'em to.