Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Flight Simulator Software
Reload this Page >

Model's exhaust smoke on Real Flight 7.5 simulator

Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Model's exhaust smoke on Real Flight 7.5 simulator

Old 01-19-2016, 06:03 PM
  #1  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,720
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Model's exhaust smoke on Real Flight 7.5 simulator

On my old Real Flight G2 simulator I was able to turn off the exhaust smoke from the model that I was flying but on my new RF 7.5 I can't find what turns it off. Hopefully someone can assist me with this. Thanks.
Old 01-20-2016, 10:46 AM
  #2  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,517
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

There is a problem with RF and smoke. There is smoke, and there is exhaust.

Depends on the model and what version of RF it appeared in as to what you will see, and what you can do about it. If RF 7.5 warns you about the model not being up to date when you select it to fly, you've got a model that probably spews great amounts of exhaust (not smoke). It may or may not have smoke as well. If it has smoke, it will probably be controlled by the Ch.7 (smoke/retract) switch. Flip the switch, and you may or may not be able to tell much change in the cloud being generated. It will probably still be pouring out way more exhaust than most glow engines can give even when too rich to fly.

What you've got to do is edit the model data to knock down that exhaust. Unfortunately, it's not a real simple deal as there are a number of different data configurations. You've got to deal with data in the fuselage folder. Within the fuselage folder should be an engine folder and then..... in there may be either an exhaust folder or a smoke folder.

I've dealt with 3 or 4 so far and what I found varied so that I wouldn't pretend to try and draw a flow chart of how to fix whatever it's possible to encounter.

Best for me to only suggest where to go to fix the exhaust.
Old 01-21-2016, 10:09 AM
  #3  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,720
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

da Rock,

My 7.5 gave me a prompt saying that there was a more recent version to mine available and after doing the upgrade as you suggested the exhaust smoke went away. Thanks again.
Old 03-15-2016, 07:13 AM
  #4  
waynem
My Feedback: (58)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: fieldale, VA
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Karolh, I have the RF7 and on it the smoke is turned off and on with the mix switch. Wayne m.
Old 03-15-2016, 10:05 AM
  #5  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,720
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by waynem View Post
Hi Karolh, I have the RF7 and on it the smoke is turned off and on with the mix switch. Wayne m.
Thanks for your response Wayne as the smoke on my sim is back with a bang. Where or what is the Mix switch you referred to??
Old 03-15-2016, 02:51 PM
  #6  
waynem
My Feedback: (58)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: fieldale, VA
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Karolh, On my R.F. 7 the smoke turns on and off with the top back switch on the right side. On my JR 9303 radio that is the mix switch. On the RF 7 the gear switch opens and closes the canopy if the plane has one. It operates the landing gear if the plane has that. Hope this helps. Wayne
Old 03-15-2016, 08:21 PM
  #7  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,720
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Got it and thanks....smoke is now OFF.
Old 04-15-2020, 11:51 PM
  #8  
manley.keedan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by karolh View Post
On my old Real Flight G2 simulator I was able to turn off the exhaust smoke from the model that I was flying but on my new RF 7.5 I can't find what turns it off. Hopefully someone can assist me with this. Thanks.
Thanks for your response Wayne as the smoke on my sim is back with a bang. Where or what is the Mix switch you referred to??
Old 04-16-2020, 05:58 AM
  #9  
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,720
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

On my RF 7.5 the switch on the top right rear of the transmitter turns the smoke on and off.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.