Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

best OS for G2

Old 06-18-2002, 08:28 AM
  #1  
Mayur
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 204
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best OS for G2

Hi,
Which is the best OS for G2?
Win 98
Win 2K pro
Win XP
Other
I currently have a Win 2K professional. Does the performance change with different operating systems?
thanks,
Mayur
Old 06-18-2002, 02:22 PM
  #2  
bluesky123
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 381
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best OS for G2

IMO, OS only matters for installation and driver conflicts. Once you get G2 up and running, the speed difference will be not noticible (at least, I can't see any FPS difference between W98 and XP). Video driver improvement is what makes the difference. Once nVidia comes out with a new, faster, drivers, it's immediately felt in G2.
Old 06-18-2002, 07:54 PM
  #3  
bob4432
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 268
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best OS for G2

i am running win2k pro and have no problems. i have used all the major m$ o/s (win95, 98, me, 2k pro and xp) and feel that 2k pro is the best in terms of stability and speed. sorry xp users -
Old 06-18-2002, 10:05 PM
  #4  
BFedRec
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best OS for G2

I've never used XP but I know when I had 2K pro on it was a fair amount slower with the same hardware, not on RC sims mind you cause I didn't have any at the time, but in general on games. That said, 2K is wonderfully stable compared to the other MS junk (if I can get the extra hard drive loaded in the family PC I'll be trying to get G2 running in Wine on Linux, cause it doesn't seem to like my P3-450 with no 3D card that I've got Linux on now when it comes to running higher end 3d Games at least)
Old 06-22-2002, 09:58 PM
  #5  
helo36
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fernandina beach, FL
Posts: 54
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XP & G2

Hi I have an AMD 1.4 GIG CPU, 512 megs Ram, Voodoo 5 5500(64meg ram), 60 gig HDD. I am running Windows XP at the present time. WOW what a difference, I had this setup in Windows 98, but now in XP w/3rd party drivers for the Voodoo 5, I can turn everything on (Graphics) and come close to the ground and it doesn't even hesitate on the graphics. XP has made a big difference in the performance. I purchased the new USB controller and the program is much snapier w/control.
Old 06-22-2002, 11:39 PM
  #6  
Cougar-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Iowa City IA
Posts: 829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best OS for G2

Yeppers. Works Awsome with my XP pro , my 2 cents worth!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.