Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Sim Review

Old 07-04-2002, 02:57 AM
  #1  
RickP
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 2,012
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Sim Review

Hey Gang,
I decided to bite the bullet and get a sim to start practicing at home. Question is, which one? Tower has the GP sim delux version for 199. Is this worth it, or can I get away with the lite version? Are there any others out there?
Thanks
Rick
Old 07-04-2002, 05:00 AM
  #2  
aftcg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
aftcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

I have decided the same. I'll be buying one in August.
I too am wondering if G2 is the only alternative for the serious flyer.
Old 07-04-2002, 10:04 AM
  #3  
KidVermin
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Macho Grande, KS
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

Rick:

If your computer will support the G2, that would be the best $200.
you could spend. Last year it cost me $275.
Unless you set-up wind and gust for flying, the take-offs/landings
are a bit easier than real life. I bought mine to stay sharp during
rainouts or winter freeze.
As far as I know, the G2 is the only one that allows you to set-up
engines from a .049 to a 3W Twin gas with sounds and smoke to
match. With 10 or 12 flying sites you can edit each site to your
own taste. I took the Airport scene and erased all bldgs. leaving
background trees then I had a wide open concrete runway to fly
from.

Randy
Old 07-04-2002, 01:59 PM
  #4  
hawkpilot
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 663
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

I second the vote on the G2 Sim. I have it with the USB interlink, and all the add-ons. I love it!!!
Old 07-04-2002, 04:22 PM
  #5  
turbojoe
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 313
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

It's the ONLY thing I've ever spent this much money on and never had guilt feelings about or any regrets. I use it daily. I'm now exploring park flyers so all I have to do is adjust the existing aircraft to the appropriate sizes and change to electric power systems. I can then fine tune from there to see how different prop sizes/gearbox ratios etc affect flight performance.

I have tried FMS also and it's a good thing it's free. I seems more like a bargain bin computer game than a simulator to me.
You will not be sorry for getting Real Flight G2 unless the wife finds out you spent that much money.
Old 07-09-2002, 06:29 AM
  #6  
BFedRec
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

I must agree that G2 is the king of the hill (bust flight model, best graphics, best overall, at a kingly price too) but it really isn't the only game in town, FMS can be a pretty good sim if you can find the realisitic planes... it's so easy to make planes for that there are a ton of not very realistic planes out there that scew most peoples opinions of it... Ikarus Easyfly is another good option if you've not got the big $$ for RealFlight... you can get it for $50 new with an RC Transmitter style Joystick. I have a long indepth review/comparison of a bunch of the sims on my rcmagazine site if you want to do even more reading on it.
Old 07-09-2002, 06:34 PM
  #7  
mscic-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
mscic-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New London, OH
Posts: 1,237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

You can get FMS for 39 bucks with transmitter cable, a whole lot cheaper than 200 and you can use your own transmitter.
Old 07-10-2002, 02:11 AM
  #8  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,957
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default FMS

What are the min requirements for FMS? Will a Pentium 2 233hz with MMX do it??? Thanks John
Old 07-10-2002, 07:07 AM
  #9  
Steve Lewin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Reading, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 904
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sim Review

Originally posted by mscic
You can get FMS for 39 bucks with transmitter cable, a whole lot cheaper than 200 and you can use your own transmitter.
You can get it a lot cheaper than that. The average EBay price is around $20. Alternatively the software is free to download and if you can solder you can make a cable for under $5 with bits from Radio Shack (or your local equivalent).

Steve

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.