Community
Search
Notices
RC Fuels Nitromethane, Castor Oil, Synthetic, heli fuel, 4 stroke, etc...Fuel Q&A is here!

Car vs Airplane Fuel

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2004, 09:20 PM
My Feedback: (145)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car vs Airplane Fuel

I have been flying for 7 years now and understand fuel components for Airplanes.
I have tried running and tuning small .15 size cars usually with a great deal of aggrevation.
I gave up about 3 years ago and my son and I went to electric. Now for the quest of speed, my son wishes to get into nitro cars again.
I shutter at jerking the pull start over and over or attempting to tune these finicy rascells. Usually my problems are keeping them running after shutting down the quickly to idle. I finally thought perhaps it was the fuel I was using. It was airplane fuel. 15% nitro 18% oil and also some YS 20 20 from WIldcat. Thinking maybe this was my problem. Too much oil. Anyway I gave up back then and now looking to start back.

But I digress.... The real reason I dropped in was to try and sort out this Air vs car fuel delema. I am getting conflicting stories about the differences between the two. In fact I really don't see any differences other than the stickers. Oil and nitro contents apear the same. When I pointed this out to one owner, he just give the standard answer: "There is a differnce in the formulation" Airplane fuel doesnt work as well as car fuel in cars and vise versa. He goes on to say that I need to run at least 18% oil as these engine really turn RPMs and need the extra cooling. Another shop says no, not so. You run less oil in that will allow more nitro and methenal in the fuel and that will keep your engine from dying. Besides the larger head keeps it cool.

So what's up. I have order an Evader nitro and have purchased a gallon of Dominator or Terminator or something like that that has 20% nito and 18% caster/syn mix. I also order a quart of %15 fuel from Tower with unknown oil content.