Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

servos

Old 10-14-2003, 10:52 PM
  #1  
caca4u
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: las vegas, NV,
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default servos

any one know what servos are compatible with my mx3 radio but not two expensive i need some for my fg sportsline but dont know what to get or where to find them. any suggestions or cites would be appriciated
Old 10-15-2003, 05:48 AM
  #2  
drevil
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 2,077
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: servos

The mx3 is the same radio i'm using on my 1/6 scale buggy. Its a standard Fm radio so you can use just about any regular servo.
For throttle/brake i'm using a standard futaba 3003 servo. I wasnt sure if that would be enough power for the brakes but since the buggy brakes are crap to begin with (rear only) a stronger servo would only make them lock up quicker.
As for the steering servo i started out with a Hitec 1/4 scale servo that broke after about 30 minutes of using it. Then i upgraded to a Hitec 1/4 scale digital metal gear servo which has works great ever since! Sorry i dont have any part numbers but if you look on towerhobbies.com you'll see what ones i'm talking about (i believe hitec only sells two 1/4 scale servos)

I hope that helps
Feel free to ask more if not.
Mike
Old 10-15-2003, 07:25 PM
  #3  
caca4u
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: las vegas, NV,
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: servos

thanks ill check it out
Old 10-15-2003, 10:53 PM
  #4  
drevil
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 2,077
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: servos

I looked it up and it turns out its the Hitec 5735MG servo.
Old 10-15-2003, 11:41 PM
  #5  
Tigger N. Bennie
Senior Member
 
Tigger N. Bennie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Track
Posts: 8,396
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: servos

Dr Evil,

Can't you upgrade your buggy to add front brakes? I have them on my FG and they run off of the third channel applying slightly after the rear brakes.
Old 10-16-2003, 01:03 AM
  #6  
drevil
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 2,077
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: servos

Yes you can upgrade to front brakes on the FG marder. I was talking about how crappy the stock rear only brakes are. If you are going to be upgrading the car to front brakes then you'd definately want to go with a hi torque standard size servo.
Mike

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.