Community
Search
Notices
RC Giant Scale Cars For all those who love driving large scale rc cars share your projects or ask questions here.

Charging?

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2010, 01:06 PM
tizdaz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charging?

hi guys, i bought a new charger a few months ago (Graupner Ultramat 6)

The packs i want to charge are:

Reciever:
4300mAh 6v C-Size (5 Cells) (Similar to this pack http://www.vapextech.co.uk/acatalog/info_61.html

Transmitter:
2200mAh 9.6v (8x 1.2v AA-Cells)
8 x AA 2100mAh Nimh+
Capacity : 2100mAh Measured at 140mA (0.2C) discharge.
Max Discharge Current : 7,200mA (7.2 Amps)
Max Charge Current : 1200mA

However im kinda new to charging these types, the charger i had beforehand only did C size for my reciever, & all i had to do was connect the battery pack to my charger & press 1 button to begin charge then just leave it as it was a delta peak with cut off... The only reason why i bought a new charger was my old one would only charge my reciever packs, it was not capable of charging my transmitter pack as it had no selectable current charge etc, so i had to charge my transmitter packs using the bog standard mains adapter that had to be left to charge for hours!

So i wanted a new charger that was able to charge both my reciever & transmitter packs quickly, not at same time i know!.. just 1 at a time, i visited my model shop & he suggested this charger (Ultramat 6) he did explain to me how to use it, but that was a few months ago & ive not yet used it..but now im ready to start using my RC again, i want to use it!

now for the tech bit..

My charger has 2 seperate switches:

The 1st says "Charge Current(A)" & has a choice of either 0.2 / 0.5 & 1.0
The 2nd says NiMh/NiCd, Delta Peak (mV/Cell) & has a choice of either 5 / 10 & 20

So what i need to know is what setting do i put these switches for both the different packs i want to charge?