Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Adding flaps and spoilers??

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2003, 08:24 PM
Beulzabob
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding flaps and spoilers??

I have a 2M RE type plane and would like to build a wing with a combination of spoiler and flaps. I'm getting a Flash 5 transmitter and hope to do the mixing using it. I'm completely new to this idea and was wondering if someone could posts pics and provide ideas on this conversion, especially regarding the ratio for the flap/spoiler setting. I'd like to set them to be completely adjustable with a servo in each wing for the spoilers, but am not sure of the best way to actuate the flaps with this setup. 2 servos for the flaps or one servo with center linkage?

Old 08-13-2003, 06:16 PM
Beulzabob

Default Anyone, Bueller???

Okay, no one likes that post. How about this? I have a plane that is hard to slow down for landings. Which is better for slowing the plane without stalling, flaps or spoilers?

Thanks,

Robert
Old 08-13-2003, 09:33 PM
probligo

From my own point of view -

Spoilers - destroy lift, are either on or off.

Flaps - increase lift and drag, making slower speed possible, can be "infinitely adjustable" between nothing and a lot.

Combination - only if you have major problems breaking through ground effect.

If you have the room in the wing, or a two piece wing, or a dihedral angle at the wing root, or any "rake" on the flap leading edge, or any possibility of flex at the wing root, then servos in each wing is the only way to go. In other words, I can't think of many instances where I would be happy with one servo driving flaps.
Old 08-14-2003, 02:14 AM
Beulzabob

Thanks Probligo,