Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Controller mode for Gliders

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2011, 09:56 AM
hon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Controller mode for Gliders

Which is the best controller mode for gliders? I am a beginner and most guys in my club fly mode 1. I am a pilot myself and find mode 3 (pitch/roll on left stick and throttle/yaw on right stick) the most natural for me. However, will I find this a disadvantage if I move onto more complex glider in the future?
Old 05-31-2011, 07:41 AM
MaineBear

Default RE: Controller mode for Gliders

Can't specifically answer your question, but most fly mode II here in the U.S. Myself, I fly mode II for fixed wing and gliders (which is opposite of way you fly)... and I was a former full scale military pilot. As far as finding mode III a disadvantage when moving 'onto more complex glider' in the future, I wouldn't think so... assuming your RC equipment was programmable enough to meet your comfort level.
Old 05-31-2011, 09:49 AM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Doesn't matter.  Whatever is popular locally would be what I would recommend.  They all work.

In North America Mode 2 is the standard, so I have never tried any other.  But I don't see that it really matters.
Old 05-31-2011, 11:51 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

If you can't find a set with mixes and other sailplane functions in your mode then you may need to look at getting some internal changes made to the transmitter to move the stick functions around.