Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

AVIA by Topmodel

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2012, 08:43 PM
Bobhend
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AVIA by Topmodel

I am selecting my next thermal duration F5J, I am new to soaring but an experienced RC pilot. Our RC club has started a sub- group on soaring, we have 15 guys. However , we are not sure how much plane we will need for our field , which is flat farm land growing corn or beans in upstate NY.I am flying the 2 m Phoenix 2000 and have been very satified with it despite having to replace the motor. Icare-RC is selling the 2.6 m Avia made by Topmodel for $300. I am considering buying the plane and then outfitting it with servos, motor etc, from Hobbyking. Has anyone seen an Avia or other Topmodel ? Since I have been able to fly the Phoenix for 20 minutes with the motor off, I am willing to spend this much now. I have looked at more expensive planes and realize the state of the art equipment is a lot more money. However these planes are either capable of hotliner performance, or are extremely light weight. Since we are not , at this point, interested in competition, the Avia looks like a logical choice and a real TD performer. The Avia should weigh about 42 oz , which is a WCL of 3.9.
Old 05-24-2012, 03:01 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AVIA by Topmodel

I've got one and it's nice. It's not a floater no matter what the wing loading.

I had an AXI that almost exactly matched the mfg recommended motor so that went in with AXI's recommended prop. It climbs like a rocket. Had I known that and I not had a motor already, I would have opted for less power.